Wednesday, January 10, 2007

CORRECTION: Hall Of Fame Vote: 37 Votes For Transplanted Ex-Mets

Cal Ripken, Jr. (537 votes) and Tony Gwynn (532 votes) narrowly beat out ex-Mets Orel Hershiser (24 votes), Bret Saberhagen (7 votes), Tony Fernandez (4 votes), and Bobby Bonilla (2 votes) for election into Baseball's Hall Of Fame.

None of the eligible ex-Mets received enough votes to stay on the ballot, so in 2008 there will be no Mets on the Hall Of Fame ballot! we will look to 1999 Met Shawon Dunston to represent the Metropolitans in the vote. After that, We will have to wait until 2009 it will be Rickey Henderson (he is retired, right?) in 2009, and then Robin Ventura appears on the ballot in 2010.

No comments: